Skip to content

Starting Fresh

June 16, 2015

Wow. It has been a long time since I wrote in this blog. Since then I’ve graduated from my graduate program after a long, very painful thesis writing process. I also have been dealing with personal and family health issues that have really been all consuming at times. Throw in the small sprinkling of other hobbies and a full work schedule, and needless to say I didn’t write much for pleasure in the past year.

My old story, one that I have had a love/hate relationship with for several years, went stale for me around the same time I had to focus on my thesis. I still want to finish it one day because it has some of the best descriptive writing I’ve ever done. However, I just couldn’t deal with it anymore. So, it was been tabled indefinitely, but I hope to one day finish it, mainly on principle.

So I am back to writing now that my calendar has emptied a little. And this means I am writing something new. I can’t take all the credit for the idea, my husband bounced an idea off of me, and I loved it. Within just a couple of weeks I’ve written about 13,000 words. It hasn’t been easy at times, and I’ve considered dropping it, but he has been so super supportive of it. Which has been nice and refreshing. When I had started writing my last story, my relationship at the time was not healthy, and my ex was not supportive of my need to write at all. My husband, on the other hand, for a graduation present bought me a weekend in a cottage in Vermont just so I can spend the time writing.

I’m a pretty lucky girl.

The story is interesting because after the first few pages, there will be no dialogue. And that’s pretty much all I can say about that. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Good for you! (and Russ)

Leave a Reply

