Skip to content

Writing, writing, writing.

December 22, 2015

So, no news on the querying front. Which isn’t good news, unfortunately. I had one person ask for my full manuscript, which is good, and I submitted it to a publishing house that is having an open door session right now. Who knows what will happen.

I’ve done a ton of Twitter pitch contests and nothing has really panned out. I have one more scheduled to enter in January that might be a good fit, but other than that, I think I’m going to take a break from it all.

It’s very easy to get discouraged trying to find an agent. You start to question what might be the reason the manuscript isn’t getting picked up. Is it the query letter? Maybe. Is it the material? Possibly. Is it the marketability of your book? Most likely.

Unfortunately, I’ve heard dystopian and post-apocalyptic are the same to a lot of agents/publishers. So, thanks to the flooding of YA dystopian fiction, it’s getting harder to market these types of books. So, I’ve been trying to find a way to say that my book is post-apocalyptic, without saying it’s post-apocalyptic. The event is a vehicle for the story, but is not really the story itself. And it sure isn’t dystopain: there is no time for an evil government to form. 🙂

So, in an effort to not get down on the process, I’ve started writing my next book. It is a lot different than BABEL. It is set in 18th century England, and has an element of historical fantasy. I have just started it, and I am in love already. It’s going to be much harder to write because of the research I have to do, but in the end, it might be more marketable.

I’ve had people say you have to have a tough skin to do this, and I’m seeing that it’s true. But I believe in my writing, so I’m not ready to give up just yet.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

